Planning

Proverbs 27:1 “Do not make your boast about the next day, for you do not know what a day will give birth to.”

This is a tricky piece of practical advice – many people, myself included, like to plan. I tend to get excited and will talk about stuff for the next day – though it may not actually happen, and that is very disappointing. If we’re more aware that it may/may not happen the world does not come crashing down when the anticipated thing doesn’t come to pass!

And as for boasting – that just makes it worse. Ego gets on a high from raising itself over others and then crashes down when it realises…. it was wrong! πŸ˜€

This was the proverb I flipped open today and what I got from it. I’d welcome any comments. πŸ˜€

– Tarina

This entry was posted in Interesting thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planning

  1. I love this particular verse in Proverbs. And I don’t think that God–telling us not to ever plan–other verses in the Bible tell us to prepare–but He is saying, we should be aware that he might disrupt our plans for a purpose according to His will.

    • Tarina says:

      No, He doesn’t tell us never to plan… that wouldn’t be wise πŸ˜€
      I’m not sure about God disrupting our plans either, though certainly he is able to do so. I think it would be more like, God had plans ahead of ours… we just never know what is going to happen any particular day.
      “Time and unforseen occurrence” (Ecclesiastes 9:11,12 I think) can befall all of us.
      I think, my interpretation of the proverb, was about getting high and mighty (boasting) about the next day… almost… almost like we control what will happen in the world when anything could be going on.
      Thank you for commenting, you have made me think deeper on this scripture than I had at first πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

